What Will Be Your Legacy?

Posted: December 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

I read quote by J.K. Rowling that said: “Is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human being can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’ or ‘cruel’? Not to me.”

I think she’s right. First of all, fat isn’t a personality characteristic. And it’s not the worst thing a person can be. And being skinny is not the best thing a person can be. I read all these quotes about how you should be willing to give up all of these things to be skinny. But why? Why would you give up time to love your family & time to do things that are important just to be skinny?

I’m not talking about becoming healthy, being healthy is important. But wasting your life to be skinny is just as unhealthy as being obese. It’s just not worth it.

The way you look on the outside doesn’t define who you are on the inside.

Beauty does not come from comparing yourself to others. That steals your beauty. That’s what the lie wants you to do. To stop believing you are beautiful.

Whenever I feel like I could lose a few pounds I remember what I would be giving up. It’s not the food. It’s the mindset. I give up the mindset of being beautiful. I give up the mindset of being happy with myself and I give up the FOCUS on things that matter.

 

How can I be my best for God when I’m giving my best to be skinny? When I decide skinny is more important I’m making it a god in my life. Even if you aren’t religious, hear me out. Skinny isn’t a god worthy to be served. At best it will give you vanity. But it probably won’t even give you that. It will only give you the feeling of inadequecy. If you believe it through and through you will have wasted your life and died to be skinny.

When people look back at your life do you want your legacy to be that you were skinny? That you exercised all the time? When you give an account for all you did in your life and everything you accomplished, do you want “achieved a perfect weight” to be on the list? What lasting value does it have?

Be healthy, not for the sake of being healthy, but be healthy so you can be strong enough to carry out responsibilities and make differences that really matter. Be healthy so that you can spend time with your kids. Be healthy so you can serve for a long time. Be healthy so that you don’t wear out during the day because you’ve not been eating right. Be healthy so you can be strong enough to love, and free enough to serve, and happy enough to smile.

 

Comments
  1. […] remembered for having lost weight, or for things that really matter? I thought it was interesting. https://skinnyisalie.wordpress.com/20…e-your-legacy/ Right now there's a gentle breeze blowing, but this is supposed to be the first day of our heat […]

Comments make it worth it!

